The Nelson Triangle - A Heritage Trail
(A National Trust property)
The eighteenth century buildings and landscape of The Kymin are a concentrated treasure. It provides solitude, seclusion and stunning views across to the Brecon Beacons.
The Round House, built for a gentlemen’s dining club, was completed in 1796. The adjacent Naval Temple, completed in 1801, boasts a painting of The Battle of the Nile and celebrates sixteen admirals and their naval victories.
The Nelson Garden
This hidden, secluded walled garden in the centre of Monmouth is maintained by a small group of volunteers through the Nelson Garden Preservation Trust and is registered by Cadw as being a garden of special historic interest.
The Nelson Garden contains a fine memorial pavilion, thought to date from the 1840s, where the seat in which Nelson sat at the banquet is located. A rare example of an eighteenth century hot-wall is the northern boundary for the Garden.
The Nelson Museum
Horatio Nelson was born in Norfolk, died at sea, and is buried in St Paul’s Cathedral – yet Monmouth is home to a magnificent collection of Nelson material.
Find out about the origins of the collection, and about the life, loves, death and commemoration of the famous admiral through displays of weapons, pictures, fine ceramics, silver and glass, ship models and letters.
The Hero of Trafalgar, from a painting by/o baentiad gan W H Overend
This Trail features the places in Monmouth associated with Lord Nelson.
Monmouth had presented The Freedom of the Town to Nelson in 1801, following his victories at the battles of The Nile and Copenhagen. When Nelson’s party passed through Monmouth on 25th July 1802, on their way to Pembrokeshire, the Mayor invited them to return for a celebration. On their way back, they travelled to Monmouth via Chepstow, and stayed at the Beaufort Arms Inn on 18th August.
The following day, 19th August 1802, Nelson and his entourage drove by carriage to The Kymin for breakfast and then walked back to the town. The Mayor and Corporation gave a sumptuous dinner in his honour at the Beaufort Arms Inn and afterwards they relaxed in Colonel Lindsey’s garden, now the Nelson Garden. The party left for Ross-on-Wye the following day, 20th August.Charles Heath, a local printer and bookseller produced a booklet, which can be viewed in The Nelson Museum, recording Nelson’s speech and the songs that Lady Hamilton sang at the dinner.